top of page

decree on the 3 C's

Lately I've realised that most of my posts tend to lean in favour of American food, which isn't wrong, but I don't want to neglect all the greatness of my current home country. Though the US and especially California absolutely smash it in the food game, the Brits got a lil somethin-somethin too!!

cheese

In the States, we prefer our cheese bright orange, powdered, or even in a can. AKA our taste in cheese is absolute r u b b i s h. I am grateful to have made it across the pond to a place where cheese doesn't look and taste like plastic. Give me Stilton, give me Wensleydale with cranberries, I'm obsessed!

I'm not hating on American cheese entirely though - provolone, Swiss, sharp cheddar, and American are all forces to be reckoned with, it's just that the lower end of our cheese spectrum is very, very low. We do have Mexican cheese in California which is life changing, but here in London with Europe so close, they've got us beat with Spanish cheese, French cheese, Italian cheese, and so much more. Basically, it's a lactose-intolerant girl's fantasy/worst nightmare. We should just aspire to more!

chicken

As you may have seen from my Instagram post, I have found the phenomenon of chicken bones littering sidewalks and bus seats in London quite strange. I remember discovering that fried chicken is a really big deal in London and being so weirded out by it initially! I think the main difference between fried chicken culture here and in the States is that here fried chicken is so much more all pervasive. It's everywhere, it's not great but it's cheap and a fab drunk snack.

At home, I've personally found that fried chicken is more of a treat and more closely associated with the American deep South. I suppose we also have so many more options when it comes to late night drunchies, fried chicken comes in quite far down on the list. Surprisingly KFC is big in both countries, which I understand in the UK because it can be better quality than your typical chicken shoppe, but in the States?! C'mon now, you need to go to Roscoe's, or Popeye's, or Churches. KFC should be a last resort!!!

chocolate

Admittedly I do love a bit of Hershey's chocolate, but I know that is a very unpopular opinion to have. Chocolate is something the Brits defffinitely do better than us and I'm not going to argue! They go crazy for that sh*t too - they've got chocolate eggs, chocolate covered Oreo bars, even chocolate bars with popping candy and gummy bears inside them! WILD!

Plus, it's not abnormal to buy yourself a gigantic bar of chocolate here, along with the rest of your groceries. I love that indulging in chocolate is a big part of English culture. Something I can truly get behind! They've actually gotten me to love chocolate bars with raisins in them...

 

So, remember that the Brits still got a lot going for them! Chocolate and cheese are nothing to trifle with.

xo,

the GAL from CALi

 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page